Skip Navigation

Laurie H. Glimcher, MD

Make an Appointment


  • President and CEO, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Principal Investigator, Cancer Immunology and Virology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Richard and Susan Smith Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Contact Information

  • Office Phone Number617-632-4266
  • Fax617-632-2161


Dr. Glimcher received a bachelor's degree, magna cum laude, from Radcliffe College and a medical degree, cum laude, from Harvard Medical School.

Immediately prior to assuming the presidency of the Institute, Dr. Glimcher served as the Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean and Professor of Medicine of Weill Cornell Medical College in New York City, and Provost for Medical Affairs of Cornell University. From 1991-2011, Dr. Glimcher was the Irene Heinz Given Professor of Immunology at the Harvard School of Public Health, where she was director of the Division of Biological Sciences, and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, where she headed one of the top immunology programs in the world.

As an immunologist, her primary research interests are elucidating the molecular pathways that regulate the immune system, critical for both the development of protective immunity and for the pathophysiologic immune responses underlying autoimmune, infectious and malignant diseases. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Member of the National Academy of Medicine and a Member of the National Academy of Sciences. She sits on the Corporate Board of Directors of the Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceutical Corporation and the Waters Corporation.

Board Certification:

  • Internal Medicine
  • Rheumatology


  • Harvard Medical School
  • National Institutes of Health, Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases


  • Massachusetts General Hospital

Medical School:

  • Harvard Medical School

Recent Awards:

  • AAMC, Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences 2017
  • Marion Spencer Fay Award 2017
  • Kober Medal Award from American Association of Physicians 2017
  • Steven C. Beering Award 2015
  • L'Oreal: UNESCO Award 2014
  • Margaret Kripke Legend Award 2014
  • Vanderbilt Prize 2013


About Glimcher Lab

The research interests of the Glimcher lab focus on the molecular pathways that regulate CD4 T helper cell development and activation. The complex regulatory pathways governing T helper cell responses are critical both for the development of protective immunity and for the pathophysiologic immune responses underlying autoimmune, infectious and malignant diseases.

Dr. Glimcher's laboratory has studied the transcriptional pathways that control this important immune checkpoint, leading to many discoveries, including the T-bet and XBP-1 transcription factors, which regulate a variety of immune functions.

Recently, Dr. Glimcher’s laboratory has identified new proteins that control osteoblast and osteoclast commitment and activation in skeletal biology, with significant implications for diseases of bone, including osteoporosis, osteoarthritis, and cancer metastasis to bone. Current studies focus on the ties between the ER stress system and immune function as well as cancer immunity.


Research Departments:


Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
450 Brookline Avenue
Boston, MA 02215
Get Directions