Skip Navigation

Visiting Dana-Farber? See our prescreening and mask requirements.

Three Dana-Farber researchers awarded new grant to accelerate multiple myeloma research

The Dr. Miriam and Sheldon G. Adelson Medical Research Foundation (AMRF) recently awarded a $4.5 million grant that will enable three Dana-Farber physician-researchers to pursue novel interventions in multiple myeloma.

Kenneth Anderson, MD, Benjamin Ebert, MD, PhD, and Irene Ghobrial, MD of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute will use the three-year award to study ways to prevent multiple myeloma from precursor states. Multiple myeloma is a cancer formed by malignant plasma cells. The disease almost always progresses from two precursor states known as monoclonal gammopathy of undetermined significance (MGUS) and smoldering multiple myeloma (SMM).

Funding from the Foundation will be used to explore effective therapeutic interventions by defining genomic and epigenomic markers that are associated with disease progression, microenvironmental changes that affect tumor progression to multiple myeloma, and mechanisms of immune evasion in disease progression. Ultimately, the team aims to eradicate the disease at the precursor stages so that multiple myeloma may become a preventable disease. The research will be conducted in collaboration MD Anderson, the University of Southern California, and Massachusetts General Hospital.

The Dr. Miriam and Sheldon G. Adelson Medical Research Foundation, established in 2006, is a private foundation committed to a model of open and highly integrated collaboration among outstanding investigators who participate in goal-directed basic and clinical research to prevent, reduce or eliminate disabling and life-threatening illness.

Posted on March 08, 2018

  • Benjamin Levine Ebert, MD, PhD
  • Research
  • Irene Ghobrial, MD
  • Kenneth C. Anderson, MD
  • Multiple Myeloma

Media Contacts

If you are a journalist and have a question about this story, please call 617-632-4090 and ask to speak to a member of the media team, or email

The Media Team cannot respond to patient inquiries. For more information, please see Contact Us.

Irene Ghobrial, MD

Benjamin Ebert, MD, PhD

Kenneth C. Anderson, MD