Skip Navigation

Visiting Dana-Farber? See our prescreening and mask requirements.

Dana-Farber faculty recognized with AACR 2020 Team Science Awards

Six Dana-Farber faculty members have been recognized by the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) with 2020 AACR Team Science Awards for their role in The Cancer Genome Atlas Project (TCGA). The recipients are:

The AACR Team Science Award was established by the AACR and Eli Lilly and Co. in 2007 to acknowledge and catalyze the growing importance of interdisciplinary teams to the understanding of cancer and/or the translation of research discoveries into clinical cancer applications. The award recognizes an outstanding interdisciplinary team of researchers for their innovative and meritorious science that has advanced or may advance our fundamental knowledge of cancer, or a team that has applied existing knowledge to advancing the detection, diagnosis, prevention, or treatment of cancer.

TCGA began in 2006 as a joint effort between the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and the National Human Genome Research Institute, bringing together researchers from diverse disciplines and multiple institutions to create a detailed catalog of genomic changes associated with specific types of cancer. TCGA has since opened new avenues of research to improve the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of numerous cancers. The TCGA founders and current project team members are being recognized for their extensive collaborations and ongoing efforts to generate one of the largest-ever sets of tumor characterization data.

This is the first time the AACR has honored TCGA with an award, and the AACR is proud to recognize the early pioneers who conceptualized and implemented the initial pilot project. A complete list of recipients can be found here.

Posted on June 24, 2020

  • Chris Sander, PhD
  • Research
  • Eliezer Van Allen, MD
  • Matthew L. Meyerson, MD, PhD
  • David J. Kwiatkowski, MD, PhD
  • Rameen Beroukhim, MD, PhD
  • Adam Bass

Media Contacts

If you are a journalist and have a question about this story, please call 617-632-4090 and ask to speak to a member of the media team, or email

The Media Team cannot respond to patient inquiries. For more information, please see Contact Us.