Skip Navigation

Visiting Dana-Farber? See our prescreening and mask requirements.

Dana-Farber/Novartis Drug Discovery and Translational Research Program (DDTRP)

  • The Dana-Farber/Novartis Drug Discovery and Translational Research Program (DDTRP) is pleased to announce a competition for three-year Grants with funding to begin in July 2021. The Program integrates leading academic research and Novartis scientific drug discovery and development efforts to advance better oncology therapeutics to improve patient outcomes.

    Thus, while excellent science is required for funding, the prospect that a project might yield information useful in drug discovery and clinical application is also necessary. Novartis encourages participation from all Boston academic medical institutions associated with the Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center (DF/HCC — including BIDMC, BCH, BWH, DFCI, MGH, HMS, HSPH), whether or not the primary applicant is a DF/HCC member.

    Please request the RFA to review the full details of this round's Grants, including application process, topics of interest, and eligibility criteria.

    Key Dates

    Grant Summaries Deadline: February 1, 2021
    Sponsor Response to Grant Summaries: March 1, 2021
    Completed IP/COI Review Deadline: March 31, 2021
    Full Application Deadline: April 15, 2021
    Award Notification: June 16, 2021
    Award Activation: July 1, 2021


    All Grant Summaries are to be submitted on the DDTRP online submission portal.

    A template for the Grant Summary is available.

    All program inquiries regarding the Grant Summary and application process should be directed to Sylvia Lin, DDTRP Program Administrator.

    Register for Email Notifications


    The Program is open to independent investigators at all institutions associated with DF/HCC, including BCH, BWH, BIDMC, DFCI, HMS, HSPH, MGH. Individual eligibility will be determined by whether your home institution accepts the terms of the Novartis DDTRP agreement.

    DDTRP Program Management Team

    Steering Committee, Novartis

    Cory Johannessen
    Shiva Malek
    Isaiah Davis

    Steering Committee, Dana-Farber

    Myles Brown
    Michael Eck
    Kate Strayer-Benton

    Scientific Coordinator, Novartis

    Brett Tomson

    Scientific Coordinator, Dana-Farber

    Henry Long

    Program Administrator

    Sylvia Lin, Dana-Farber

    Alliance Manager, Novartis

    Isaiah Davis

    Alliance Manager, Dana-Farber

    Jodi Hecht