• Awards and Honors

    A selection of awards recently earned by Dana-Farber and our staff

    October 2013 – January 2014

    The Institute

    Ludwig Cancer Research, on behalf of its founder, Daniel K. Ludwig, has given Harvard Medical School $90 million to spur innovative scientific inquiry and discovery. This gift represents an equal share of a total $540 million gift to expand the Ludwig Centers at six academic institutions in the United States: Harvard, MIT, Stanford, Johns Hopkins, Memorial Sloan-Kettering, and the University of Chicago.

    Six SPORE grants awarded this year to researchers at Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center, a consortium of more than 1,000 cancer scientists at seven Harvard-affiliated schools and hospitals. The six grants represent more than one-third of the 16 SPORE grants approved this year.

    Boston magazine has named 54 physicians and surgeons affiliated with Dana-Farber to its annual Top Doctors guide.

    The Partners Employee Assistance Program (EAP) recently received program re-accreditation from the Council on Accreditation. The accreditation is for a four-year period, and recognizes high standards in over 350 best practice standards, such as continuous quality improvement, delivery of best and evidence-based practices, ensuring and promoting effective service, creating efficiencies and risk management. EAP was first accredited in 2009.


    Physicians and scientists from Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women's Cancer Center and Dana-Farber/Boston Children's Cancer and Blood Disorders Center showcased their advances in blood and cancer research at the American Society of Hematology annual meeting in New Orleans, December 7 through 10, 2013.

    A study by Charles Fuchs, MD, MPH, was chosen as one of the top 10 Research Highlights of 2013 by the National Cancer Institute. The study is titled, "Association of nut consumption linked to mortality," and has been published by EGRP (Epidemiology and Genomics Research Program) grantees.

    Danielle Bowers, PA-C, was honored by Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH) with the 2013 Physician Assistant Recognition Award during its annual recognition dinner. The celebration recognizes the contributions of physician assistants at BWH, Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital, and Dana-Farber.

    Mayor Thomas Menino appointed Karen Byers, RBP, CBSP, Dana-Farber’s longtime biosafety officer, to the Boston Biosafety Committee, which regulates laboratories in the city that do biological research requiring the highest levels of containment and training.

    Judy Garber, MD, MPH, director of the Center for Cancer Genetics and Prevention at Dana-Farber and is one of the leaders of the Susan F. Smith Center for Women's Cancers, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM), a nongovernmental organization that advises the nation on issues related to biomedical science, medicine, and health.

    Kelly Lane, a member of the Pediatric Patient and Family Advisory Council and former co-chair, led a breakout session at the Massachusetts Conference for Women, held December 5, 2013, at the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center.

    Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women’s Cancer Center’s Adult Stem Cell Transplantation Program named Sarah Nikiforow, MD, PhD, an attending physician. Nikiforow was also appointed assistant medical director of the Connell and O’Reilly Families Cell Manipulation Core Facility, which assists researchers in developing new cell-based therapies for cancer.

    Andrea Farkas Patenaude, PhD, director of psychology research and clinical services at the Center for Cancer Genetics and Prevention, was recognized for her clinical contributions to the field of psycho-oncology at the 15th annual World Congress of Psycho-Oncology in Rotterdam, the Netherlands.

    Patricia Reid Ponte, RN, DNSc, FAAN, was honored by University of Massachusetts with a Salute to Service award Nov. 20 at the Boston Harbor Hotel.

    A dozen Dana-Farber staff members — nurses, physicians, and quality specialists — attended the Quality Care Symposium (organized by the American Society of Clinical Oncology) as research presenters and panel discussion leaders.

    Bruce Spiegelman, PhD, was named winner of the Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research.

    More than 30 members of the Susan F. Smith Center for Women's Cancers descended upon Texas for the 2013 San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium. The five-day event, now in its 36th year, is one of the world's biggest stages for presentations of the latest research findings and treatment advances against breast cancer.

    Loren Walensky, MD, PhD, of Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders Center, was selected for the 2013 Samuel Rosenthal Foundation Prize for Excellence in Academic Pediatrics.

    Jeanna Walsh, MD, was named medical director of Dana-Farber/New Hampshire Oncology-Hematology in Londonderry, N.H. She succeeds Frederick Briccetti, MD, who served as medical director since the regional care center opened in 2008.

    The American Cancer Society honored Joanne Wolfe, MD, MPH, with its 2013 Pathfinder in Palliative Care Award. Wolfe, who is the division chief of Pediatric Palliative Care in the department of Psychosocial Oncology and Palliative Care at Dana-Farber, was recognized for her research in quality of life of children with advanced cancer.

    Scientists at Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders Center have earned federal grants for research on sickle cell anemia and a rare form of bone marrow failure in children. Recipients are: Richard Gregory, Benjamin Ebert, Vijay Sankaran, Stuart Orkin, David A. Williams, Ellis Neufeld, Judy Fleming, Mark Fleming, Inga Hofmann, and Kryiacos Markianos.

    Four Dana-Farber scientists (Nika Danial, Margaret Shipp, Jarrod Marto, and Peter Hammerman) have received a total of $800,000 in grant funding from the V Foundation for Cancer Research, created in memory of Jim Valvano, a college basketball coach and national sports commentator who died of cancer in 1993.

    Three faculty members (David Reardon, Patrick Wen, and Ennio Chiocca) from Dana-Farber’s Center for Neuro-Oncology were selected for top positions in the Society for Neuro-Oncology (SNO), the premier North American-based organization dedicated to scientific and clinical research on central nervous system tumors.

    Ten nurses from Dana-Farber joined colleagues from around the country presented abstracts on new research findings at the Oncology Nursing Society’s second annual research conference in Dallas.

  • Email
  • Print
  • Share
  • Text
Highlight Glossary Terms