Dana-Farber Cancer Institute faculty among world’s most highly cited researchers

Posted date

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute is proud to announce that 35 of its researchers have been named to the Highly Cited Researchers list of 2021 released today by the Institute for Scientific Information at Clarivate.

The highly anticipated list identifies scientists and social scientists who produced multiple papers ranking in the top 1% by citations for their field and year of publication, demonstrating significant research influence among their peers. The methodology that determines the who’s who of influential researchers draws on the data and analysis performed by bibliometric experts from the Institute for Scientific Information at the Web of Science Group.

“Dana-Farber’s talented and devoted investigators are making a tremendous impact on cancer research that is truly felt across the world,” said Laurie H. Glimcher, MD, President and CEO of Dana-Farber. “By deepening our scientific understanding of cancer, we can improve the level of care for patients everywhere. I congratulate all of our faculty who were recognized with this distinct honor today.”

The data are taken from 21 broad research fields within Essential Science Indicators, a component of InCites. The fields are defined by sets of journals and exceptionally, in the case of multidisciplinary journals such as Nature and Science, by a paper-by-paper assignment to a field based on an analysis of the cited references in the papers. This percentile-based selection method removes the citation advantage of older papers relative to recently published ones, since papers are weighed against others in the same annual cohort.

The Dana-Farber faculty included in this year’s list are:

Kenneth C. Anderson, MD

Philippe F. Armand, MD, PhD

Mark Awad, MD, PhD

Bradley Bernstein, PhD

Rameen Beroukhim MD, PhD

Jennifer Brown, MD, PhD

Myles Brown, MD

Toni Choueiri, MD

Benjamin Ebert, MD, PhD

Gordon Freeman, PhD

Wendy S Garrett MD, PhD

Richard D. Gelber, PhD

Todd R. Golub, MD

William Hahn, MD, PhD

Stephen Hodi, MD

Rafael Irizarry, PhD

Pasi Jänne, MD

Ian E. Krop, MD, PhD

Heng Li, PhD

Shirley Liu, PhD

Ursula Matulonis, MD

Matthew Meyerson, MD, PhD

Nikhil Munshi, MD

Donna Neuberg, ScD

Patrick Ott, MD, PhD

Geoffrey Shapiro, MD, PhD

Margaret Shipp, MD

Sachet Shukla, PhD

Joseph G. Sodroski, MD

Bruce M. Spiegelman, PhD

Richard M. Stone, MD

Eliezer Van Allen, MD

Patrick Y. Wen, MD

Eric Winer, MD

Catherine J. Wu, MD

“It is increasingly important for nations and institutions to recognize and support the exceptional researchers who are driving the expansion of the world’s knowledge, said David Pendlebury, Senior Citation Analyst at the Institute for Scientific Information at Clarivate. “This list identifies and celebrates exceptional individual researchers who are having a significant impact on the research community as evidenced by the rate at which their work is being cited by their peers. The research they have contributed is fueling the innovation, sustainability, health and security that is key for our society’s future.”

Media Contacts

If you are a journalist and have a question about this story, please call 6176324090 and ask to speak to a member of the media team, or email media@dfci.harvard.edu.

The Media Team cannot respond to patient inquiries. For more information, please see Contact Us.