Two Dana-Farber faculty elected to National Academy of Medicine

Posted date

Recognition is one of the highest honors in medicine and health

Two Dana-Farber Cancer Institute faculty are among the 100 new members elected to the prestigious National Academy of Medicine (NAM), announced today. 

The newly elected members are:

  • Monica M. Bertagnolli, MD, Richard E. Wilson MD Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School; associate surgeon, Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women's Cancer Center; and group chair, Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology.
  • William C. Hahn, MD, PhD, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, and William Rosenberg Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School.

In announcing the new members, the NAM noted that Bertagnolli was elected “for her numerous leadership roles in multi-institutional cancer clinical research consortia and advancing the quality and scope of research to bring important new treatments to people with cancer.”  The Academy noted that Hahn was elected for “his fundamental contributions in the understanding of cancer initiation, maintenance, and progression.”

Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

“It is my privilege to welcome this extraordinary class of new members. Their contributions to health and medicine are unmatched – they’ve made groundbreaking discoveries, taken bold action against social inequities, and led the response to some of the greatest public health challenges of our time,” said National Academy of Medicine President Victor J. Dzau. “This is also the NAM’s most diverse class of new members to date, composed of approximately 50% women and 50% racial and ethnic minorities. This class represents many identities and experiences – all of which are absolutely necessary to address the existential threats facing humanity. I look forward to working with all of our new members in the years ahead.”

New members are elected by current members through a process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health. 

Established originally as the Institute of Medicine in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues in health, science, medicine, and related policy and inspires positive actions across sectors. NAM works alongside the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering to provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conduct other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions. The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine also encourage education and research, recognize outstanding contributions to knowledge, and increase public understanding of STEMM. With their election, NAM members make a commitment to volunteer their service in National Academies activities.

Related Doctors and Researchers

Media Contacts

If you are a journalist and have a question about this story, please call 6176324090 and ask to speak to a member of the media team, or email

The Media Team cannot respond to patient inquiries. For more information, please see Contact Us.