Cellular Therapies Program Team

Short placeholder heading

The Cellular Therapies Program team leads clinical care and research of promising cellular therapies across all adult disease centers. Patients are cared for by a multidisciplinary team that is experienced and specially trained in these innovative therapies.

Cellular therapies being offered as standard of care or being evaluated in clinical trials include CAR T-cell therapy, engineered T cell receptors (TCRs), natural killer (NK) cells, cytotoxic lymphocytes, and tumor infiltrating lymphocytes.

Team Leadership

Catherine J. Wu, MD, Chief, Division of Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapies
Robert J. Soiffer, MD, Chief, Division of Hematologic Malignancies; Vice Chair, Department of Medical Oncology
Eric Smith, MD, PhD, Director, Translational Research, Immune Effector Cell Therapy Program
Caron A. Jacobson, MD, Medical Director, Immune Effector Cell Therapy Program
Sarah Nikiforow, MD, PhD, Technical Director, Immune Effector Cell Therapy Program and Medical Director, Connell and O’Reilly Families Cell Manipulation Core Facility
Jerome Ritz, MD, Executive Director, Connell and O’Reilly Families Cell Manipulation Core Facility
Amy Emmert, Executive Director for Cellular Therapy External Affairs
Julie Porter, Vice President of Cellular Therapy Operations

Disease Center Leaders

Breast Oncology: Elizabeth Ann Mittendorf, MD, PhD; Sara M. Tolaney, MD, MPH
Early Phase (Phase 1) Trials: Leena Gandhi, MD, PhD
Gastrointestinal Oncology: James M. Cleary, MD, PhD
Genitourinary Oncology: Atish D. Choudhury, MD, PhD; Xiao X. Wei, MD, MAS
Gynecologic Oncology: Panos A. Konstantinopoulos, MD, PhD; Ursula A. Matulonis, MD
Head and Neck Oncology: Robert I. Haddad, MD; Glenn J. Hanna, MD
Leukemia: Daniel J. DeAngelo, MD, PhD; Marlise R. Luskin, MD, MSCE
Lymphoma: Philippe Armand, MD, PhD; Caron A. Jacobson, MD
Melanoma: Elizabeth I. Buchbinder, MD; Stephen Hodi, MD
Myeloma: Nikhil C. Munshi, MD; Adam Sperling, MD, PhD
Neuro-Oncology: Lakshmi Nayak, MD; David Reardon, MD
Sarcoma: George D. Demetri, MD
Stem Cell Transplantation: Vincent T. Ho, MD; Sarah Nikiforow, MD, PhD; Rizwan Romee, MD
Thoracic: Mark Awad, MD, PhD