AAAS announces three 2014 Fellows from Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Posted date

Myles Brown, MD, Alan Engelman, PhD, and Barrett Rollins, MD, PhD, of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute have each been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

This year’s AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on 28 November 2014.

Brown was elected for the discovery of key nuclear mechanisms that underlie the hormone dependence and the response to endocrine therapy of breast and prostate cancers.

Engelman was elected for significant contributions to the field of biological sciences, particularly in determining mechanisms of retroviral integration targeting and inhibition.

Rollins was elected for distinguished contributions to the field of leukocyte physiology, particularly for using genetics to define the role of chemoattractants and oncogenes in health and disease.

“As leaders in their fields, these distinguished Dana-Farber investigators have made, and will continue to make, significant contributions that will ultimately help the health and well-being of our patients, and people with cancer around the world. They are emblematic of Dana-Farber’s mission, and we are proud that they have been recognized with this high honor,” said Edward J. Benz, Jr., MD, president and chief executive officer, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

This year, 401 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Feb. 14, 2015 during the 2015 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Jose, Calif.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected.

Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The Council is the policymaking body of the Association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.

Media Contacts

If you are a journalist and have a question about this story, please call 617-632-4090 and ask to speak to a member of the media team, or email

The Media Team cannot respond to patient inquiries. For more information, please see Contact Us.