Dana-Farber Cancer Institute faculty recognized as 2020 ASCO leaders in cancer research and care

Posted date

The American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) recognized four Dana-Farber Cancer Institute  researchers as winners of ASCO's Special Awards, the Society’s highest honors. The recipients of these awards have worked to transform cancer care around the world. 

Among the recipients: 

David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award and Lecture 

George D. Demetri, MD, FASCO is senior vice president for experimental therapeutics and director of the Sarcoma Center at Dana-Farber, a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School, and co-director of the Ludwig Center at Harvard. Dr. Demetri has dedicated his career to translational research aimed at understanding and treating precisely defined subsets of cancers, and he was a pioneer in the development of targeted therapies for gastrointestinal stromal tumor (GIST) as a molecularly-defined subset of sarcomas. First presented in 1970, the David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award and Lecture honors Dr. Karnofsky by recognizing an oncologist who has made outstanding contributions to cancer research, diagnosis, and/or treatment. 

Science of Oncology Award and Lecture 

Pasi A. Jänne, MD, PhD  is the director of the Lowe Center for Thoracic Oncology at Dana-Farber and the director of the Belfer Center for Applied Cancer Science. Dr. Jänne is also a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and a member of the Executive Committee for Research at Dana-Farber. He was one of the co-discoverers of epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) mutations and Dr. Jänne has led the development of therapeutic strategies for patients with EGFR-mutant lung cancer. Created in 2005, the Science of Oncology Award and Lecture is presented annually in recognition of a recipient’s outstanding contributions to basic or translational research in cancer. 

ASCO American Cancer Society Award and Lecture 

Timothy Rebbeck, PhD is a professor of medical oncology at Dana-Farber and the Vincent L. Gregory, Jr. professor of cancer prevention at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Dr. Rebbeck is founding director of the Zhu Family Center for Global Cancer Prevention at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and leads the Cancer Outreach and Engagement activities for Dana-Farber. His work has led to an understanding of the genetic and environmental causes of breast, prostate, skin, endometrial, and ovarian cancers, as well as interventions intended to reduce the burden of these cancers in individuals and populations. First presented in 1993, the ASCO American Cancer Society Award and Lecture recognizes significant contributions to cancer prevention and control research or practice. 

Excellence in Teaching Award 

Anthony V. D’Amico, MD, PhD is the Eleanor Theresa Walters Distinguished Chair, chief of genitourinary radiation oncology at Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women’s Cancer Center. Dr. D’Amico is the chair of the residency executive committee in the Harvard Radiation Oncology Program, and advisory dean and chair of career advising and mentorship at Harvard Medical School. Dr. D’Amico is an internationally known expert in the treatment of prostate cancer and has defined combined modality staging. The Excellence in Teaching Award underscores ASCO’s belief that teaching is as important to the future of cancer medicine as are research, care delivery, and clinical work. 

Each year ASCO also recognizes members with the Fellow of the American Society of Clinical Oncology distinction. This year Michael J. Hassett, MD, MPH, FASCOJennifer Ligibel, MD, FASCO, and Mary-Ellen Taplin, MD, FASCO are among the recipients recognized for their extraordinary volunteer service, dedication, and commitment to ASCO. 

The ASCO 2020 Virtual Scientific Program will be held May 29-May 31. 

News Category

Media Contacts

If you are a journalist and have a question about this story, please call 617-632-4090 and ask to speak to a member of the media team, or email media@dfci.harvard.edu.

The Media Team cannot respond to patient inquiries. For more information, please see Contact Us.