Dana-Farber Cancer Institute faculty among world’s most highly cited researchers

Posted date

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute is proud to announce that 34 of its researchers have been named to the Highly Cited Researchers list of 2023, released today by the Institute for Scientific Information at Clarivate.

Highly Cited Researchers from Clarivate is an annual list recognizing influential researchers in the sciences and social sciences from around the world, who have demonstrated significant and broad influence in their field(s) of research. Each researcher selected has authored multiple Highly Cited Papers which rank in the top 1% by citations for their field(s) and publication year in the Web of Science over the past decade. Of the world’s population of scientists and social scientists, Highly Cited Researchers are 1 in 1,000.

“The groundbreaking research being done at Dana-Farber is benefitting patients in Boston and around the world,” said Kevin M. Haigis, Chief Research Officer at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. “It is an honor for so many of our talented and accomplished faculty to be named as Highly Cited Researchers.”

The data to develop the list derives from Essential Science Indicators, a component of InCites. For their 2023 analysis, Clarivate reviewed 188,500 Highly Cited Papers from 20 broad fields in Essential Science Indicators, defined by sets of journals and exceptionally, in the case of multidisciplinary journals such as Nature and Science, by a paper-by-paper assignment to a field based on an analysis of the cited references in the papers. Data are taken from article and review papers only.

David Pendlebury, Head of Research Analysis at the Institute for Scientific Information at Clarivate said: “The Highly Cited Researchers list identifies and celebrates exceptional individual researchers at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute whose significant and broad influence in their fields translates to impact in their research community and innovations that make the world healthier, more sustainable and more secure. Their contributions resonate far beyond their individual achievements, strengthening the foundation of excellence and innovation in research.”

Dana-Farber faculty included in this year’s list are:

Kenneth C. Anderson

Philippe F. Armand

Mark M. Awad

Bradley E. Bernstein

Jay Bradner

Jennifer R. Brown

Myles A. Brown

Toni K. Choueiri

Alan D. D'Andrea

Glenn Dranoff

Benjamin L. Ebert

Eric S. Fischer

Gordon J. Freeman

Stephen Hodi

Rafael A. Irizarry

Pasi A. Jänne

Heng Li

Keith L. Ligon

Nancy U. Lin

Ursula A. Matulonis

Jeffrey A. Meyerhardt

Matthew L. Meyerson

Nikhil C. Munshi

Donna S. Neuberg

Patrick A. Ott

David A. Reardon

Paul G. Richardson

Chris Sander

Geoffrey I. Shapiro

Bruce M. Spiegelman

Sara M. Tolaney

Patrick Y. Wen

Kai W. Wucherpfennig

Catherine J. Wu 

News Category

Media Contacts

If you are a journalist and have a question about this story, please call 617-632-4090 and ask to speak to a member of the media team, or email media@dfci.harvard.edu.

The Media Team cannot respond to patient inquiries. For more information, please see Contact Us.